Data City, Texas

Energy Abundance Development Corp · near Laredo · Webb County

Houston-based Energy Abundance Development Corp plans a 5 GW AI colocation hub on 50,000 acres near Laredo, built to run islanded from ERCOT on wind, solar, batteries and gas, then green hydrogen. Announced in March 2025 with a 2026 first phase, the project had no formal application before the City of Laredo or Webb County as of August 2026.

Who holds each layer of Data City: Energy Abundance Development Corp holds the land, the captive generation, the Hydrogen City storage and the data halls, and no tenant is named. WHO HOLDS EACH LAYER LAND AND SITE Energy Abundance; parcel not disclosed POWER Captive wind, solar, batteries, gas HYDROGEN SUPPLY Hydrogen City, Piedras Pintas Salt Dome BUILDINGS AND OPERATIONS Energy Abundance (merchant colocation) TENANT Not announced
Planned
5 GW
Power
Islanded; gas to hydrogen
Land
50,000 acres
Status
Proposed
County
Webb
Sector
AI and data centers

Overview

A 5 GW Islanded Campus Announced Ahead of Any Application

Energy Abundance Development Corp, renamed from Green Hydrogen International and led by founder and CEO Brian Maxwell, announced Data City in March 2025 as the largest behind-the-meter (BTM) data center hub in the world. The plan starts with 300 MW and 1 million square feet in 2026 and grows to 5 GW and more than 15 million square feet of leasable space, designed for direct-to-chip liquid cooling.

Nothing has been built. The first phase has not started, the parcel has not been disclosed, and city and Webb County officials said in August 2026 that they had received no formal data center application. Laredo declined a moratorium that month and directed staff to draft standards for water use, electrical demand, cooling and land use, since the city code already bars uses it does not expressly permit.

Profile
DeveloperEnergy Abundance Development Corp (Houston)
LocationNear Laredo, Webb County (South Texas)
Distance from AustinAbout 235 miles south
Planned capacity300 MW first phase; up to 5 GW
Leasable space1 million sq ft first phase; 15 million+ at buildout
Power modelBTM, fully islanded from ERCOT
GenerationWind, solar, batteries, dual-fuel gas turbines; green hydrogen later
CoolingDirect-to-chip liquid
InvestmentNot disclosed
StatusProposed; no local application as of August 2026

Energy model

Gas First, Then Hydrogen From a Salt Dome

The campus is designed to take no power from ERCOT (the Electric Reliability Council of Texas). Dual-fuel turbines would burn Texas natural gas first and shift toward green hydrogen made by electrolysis from dedicated wind and solar, held in a 2 TWh salt-cavern storage system tied to the developer's Hydrogen City project. See Behind-the-Meter Power.

Hydrogen City, announced in 2022, centers on the Piedras Pintas Salt Dome in Duval County, east of Webb County. Its stated buildout is 60 GW of wind and solar feeding electrolyzers and more than 2.5 billion kilograms of green hydrogen a year, mostly for export as green ammonia and fuels through Corpus Christi and Brownsville. Data City would burn that hydrogen on site instead. Data Center Dynamics reported in 2025 that the first Hydrogen City phase was not expected until 2028, and none of it has been built. See Texas Green Hydrogen Hub.

The Laredo basin rates extremely high for baseline water stress, which bears on electrolysis water demand and on Laredo's new standards; see Texas Water Supply Stress.

Deal structure

One Developer Holding Power, Storage and Halls

Energy Abundance would own the generation, the hydrogen supply through Hydrogen City and the data halls, and lease space and power to tenants as merchant colocation. In that structure the hydrogen project is the parent and the data center is its anchor customer, turning an export hydrogen plan into a captive fuel supply. No tenant, chip supplier, equity partner or project financing has been announced.

Among the hub's exemplars, Meitner Energy Center pairs renewables with gas firming and AWS GW Ranch runs off-grid on gas; Data City is the only one planned around stored hydrogen.

Constraints

Outside the Grid Audit, Inside the Permit Hold

Because Data City would not connect to ERCOT, the August 3, 2026 ERCOT audit and the SB 6 (2025) large-load interconnection rules do not reach it. The September 21 order does: the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) has held all data center air and water permits, including those for islanded on-site power, until ERCOT's review ends, expected in mid-December 2026. Gas turbines at this scale need TCEQ air permits, so the hold applies whenever Energy Abundance files. See Texas Data Center Moratorium.

Record

Dataset Record

Sources
Energy Abundance Development Corp (PR Newswire), Data Center Dynamics, RGV Business Journal, Laredo Morning Times (via GovTech), KGNS, Compute Atlas, Bracewell
Last verified
October 2026