AWS GW Ranch

Amazon Web Services · Permian Basin · Pecos County

Amazon owns the 8,000-acre GW Ranch site in Pecos County and buys power from an on-site plant permitted for 35 gas turbines and 7.65 GW, plus 750 MW of solar and 1.8 GW of batteries. The 7.65 GW figure is the power plant's nameplate; Amazon has not disclosed the data center's IT load.

Who holds each layer of GW Ranch: Amazon owns the land and buildings and buys power from the Pacifico-developed plant. WHO HOLDS EACH LAYER LAND AND SITE Amazon, bought from Pacifico Energy POWER Pacifico-developed plant; Amazon buys power BUILDINGS AND OPERATIONS Amazon Data Services COMPUTE AWS, chips not disclosed TENANT AWS and its cloud customers
Generation
7.65 GW permitted
Power
Off-grid gas
Land
8,000 acres
Status
Under construction
County
Pecos
Sector
AI and data centers

Overview

Amazon's First Off-Grid Campus Sits in the Permian Basin

Pacifico Energy, a California developer, assembled the GW Ranch site and won its state air permits in January 2026. Amazon confirmed in August 2026 that it had bought the site and signed to buy the power generated there; it is Amazon's first private behind-the-meter (BTM) campus. The site lies about 30 miles from the Chevron and Microsoft campus in the same county.

Amazon Data Services filed state registrations in August 2026 for three data center buildings of about 189,000 sq ft each, at about $300M apiece, designed by Gensler. Amazon has not disclosed the campus IT load or total cost; Pacifico put the project near $12B in February 2026. See AWS's Texas compute.

Profile
Owner and operatorAmazon Web Services (Amazon Data Services)
Power developerPacifico Energy
LocationPecos County, Permian Basin
LandAbout 8,000 acres
GenerationUp to 7.65 GW gas (35 turbines), 750 MW solar, 1.8 GW battery
IT capacityNot disclosed
BuildingsThree registered, about 189,000 sq ft and $300M each
WaterNone for initial generation cooling; brackish groundwater later
StatusUnder construction

Energy model

A Gas Plant Built Ahead of the Grid

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) permits up to 35 natural gas turbines with combined capacity of 7.65 GW, and the plan adds up to 750 MW of solar and 1.8 GW of battery storage. The plant runs separately from the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) grid at first; Amazon says it will move to grid-connected service as interconnection timelines allow, which puts any later connection under the SB 6 (2025) large-load rules. Global Energy Monitor ranks it first among Texas gas projects built for data centers.

Quoting 7.65 GW as the data center's capacity overstates it: the number is the plant nameplate, and the three registered buildings are the only disclosed load. See Behind-the-Meter Power and Permian Basin Energy.

Deal structure

Amazon Owns the Land and Buys the Power

Amazon bought the land from Pacifico and holds the buildings through Amazon Data Services. Pacifico develops the generation and plans to run its own engineering, procurement and construction; Amazon buys the output under a power purchase arrangement whose term, price and volume are not public. The campus serves AWS and its cloud customers. No external AI lab has been tied to this site; Amazon's large Anthropic capacity runs through Project Rainier in Indiana.

Constraints

The Largest Greenhouse Gas Permit in the Country

The air permits allow up to 33 million tons of greenhouse gases a year and more than 12,000 tons of regulated pollutants. TCEQ has said the facility could emit more greenhouse gases than any other single US source; actual output depends on how often the turbines run. Amazon says its 2040 net-zero pledge stands.

The air permit was issued before Governor Abbott's September 21, 2026 pause on data center permits, so the plant's air side is settled. Later phases plan to draw brackish groundwater or oil-field produced water; if that source needs a TCEQ authorization, it falls under the pause until ERCOT's review finishes in mid-December. See Water and Cooling.

Record

Dataset Record

Sources
Amazon, Pacifico Energy, Engineering News-Record, Baxtel, Cleanview, Texas Observer, Texas Tribune, TDLR registrations, Global Energy Monitor, Noetic, Office of the Governor of Texas
Last verified
October 2026